Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Fly Tying

Along with fly fishing, comes the art of fly tying.  I have been tying my own flies for about 7 years, and I’m actually decent at it.  At least…the fish like my flies, and they are the important ones…

So I thought I would put together a short list of some of my favorite flies to tie and fish in the Eastern Sierra:

Red Belly Midge #26

Red Belly Midge #26

Traditional BWO Wet Fly #18

Traditional BWO Wet Fly #18

Split Hackle Wing BWO #22

Split Hackle Wing BWO #22

Quill Body March Brown #18

Quill Body March Brown #18

Yellow Stimulator #14

Yellow Stimulator #14

 These flies are always present in my flybox.  They catch fish all year long…even in December…and work well on high elevation streams for rising wild trout.

If you’re interested in the pattern recipe for any of the above flies, let me know.  I will be happy to provide them.  Maybe if there is enough interest, I can do a tying tutorial later on towards spring…some of my favorite early season emerger patterns, or something…

Thanks for taking the time to look!

2 responses

  1. Very nicely done! We fish these in the east as well. I will check back to see what else you put up. thanks

    January 8, 2009 at 1:25 pm

  2. Thanks for the comment, Tom. I’m going to put together some of my own patterns in the early spring, and post the recipes, so be sure to check back!

    January 8, 2009 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

