Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Black & White Film

I’ve always loved black and white film pictures.  Even with the new digital cameras and photoshop you simply cannot get the same depth of shading that you get from black and white film.  In high school, I was lucky enough to have the privilege of a black and white photography class complete with darkroom and processing.

After high school, I lost my “roots”.  Actually, what I lost was my old Olympus OM10 SLR film camera, which greatly impeded my ability to take photographs.  I still love and miss that camera.

I had an opportunity to buy an old Olympus OM10 in 2002 for the price of $25.  I jumped at it, and immediately went out and bought a couple rolls of Kodak B&W film.  I didn’t have the ability to develope these photos myself, nor did I have the chance to work with them in the processing dark room.  They are “as is”, so to speak.

Of course, I scanned them into my computer, added the neat little frames and my name to them…but otherwise, they are the way I took them.  Hope you enjoy them!

Rock and Dead Trees...one of my favorites...

Rock and Dead Trees...one of my favorites...

Nice canyon view with soft, summer clouds.

Nice canyon view with soft, summer clouds.

I just like the contrast in these flowers.

I just like the contrast in these flowers.

Long exposure at night...almost a full minute.

Long exposure at night...almost a full minute.

Random Rock.  A little washed out, but still decent contrast...I think...

Random Rock. A little washed out, but still decent contrast...I think...

Random stump with nice textures and contrast.

Random stump with nice textures and contrast.

Just an old, dead tree in the woods that caught my eye.

Just an old, dead tree in the woods that caught my eye.

Thanks for taking a look.  As always…your comments are welcome and appreciated!

Leave a Reply

