Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Death Valley

Took these pictures at the extreme north edge of Death Valley National Park.  I’m not actually even IN the park here…just hanging around the northern edge.  I am in the California Desert Preservation Habitat, though…

Anyhow…the sun was high and bright, and it was HOURS until sunset…I just didn’t have the time to wait for “magic hour” to bring out the full contrast in these mountains.  But I popped on a split neutral density filter, and snapped a couple, anyhow…

f/22; 1/40; ISO 100

f/22; 1/40; ISO 100

f/22; 1/30; ISO 100

f/22; 1/30; ISO 100

Both landscapes were shot using a Zuiko 14-42mm lens and split neutral density filter.

There were a BUNCH of lizards running around.  It’s still too early for snakes yet, but these little Common Sideblotch lizards (Uta stansburiana) were running around everywhere, so I got a couple quick photos.

f/7.1; 1/320; ISO 100

f/7.1; 1/320; ISO 100

f/6.3; 1/320; ISO 100

f/6.3; 1/320; ISO 100

Both lizards were caught using a Zuiko 40-150mm telephoto.  Still should have gotten closer, but I didn’t want to spook them they were “twitchy” … bobbing heads at me in a threat display… Hopefully they will settle as it warms up.  Of course, by then the bigger lizards and snakes will be out which makes these little guys a little more difficult to find…

Hope y’all enjoyed my glaring, mid-day sun, not enough contrast, but too pretty to pass up landscape shots!  I will get back to this location at the magic hour one of these days for better pictures…I promise!

Leave a Reply

