Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Went for a road cruise with my friend, John, tonight, just hoping to maybe, by some streak of luck, find a snake that was out and still alive.  I didn’t think that was too much to ask for, but…it’s still early in the season…

But we were rewarded with an absolutely stunning little Mojave Desert Sidewinder (Crotalus cerastes cerastes).  Just a little bitty thing, it was probably only in it’s second or third year…so about 10″ long.

I’m not sure if it is a male or female, because frankly…it is a bit dangerous to sex a rattlesnake in the field, and I don’t yet own a set of restraining tubes.  So until I get a set…all rattlesnakes will remain “unsexed”…I like my fingers and my life, thanks…

f/5.6; 1/180; ISO 400; 1/16 power flash

f/5.6; 1/180; ISO 400; 1/16 power flash

f/5.6; 1/30; ISO 200; 1/4 power flash

f/5.6; 1/30; ISO 200; 1/4 power flash

f/5.6; 1/180; ISO 400; 1/16 power flash

f/5.6; 1/180; ISO 400; 1/16 power flash

Snake season is definitely underway.  I hope y’all don’t mind pictures of snakes because I plan on sharing a LOT of pictures of some very pretty snakes over the next 3-4 months.

Thanks again for taking the time to look, and comments are ALWAYS appreciated!

2 responses

  1. Nasty looking thing.

    Chris

    March 20, 2009 at 6:05 am

    • No, they are a beautiful and vital part of the eco system. I, personally, find them gorgeous and absolutely fascinating. I’m sorry you don’t agree…

      March 20, 2009 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

