Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

LIFER!!

I went for another road cruise tonight.  I have been waiting to hit this road this season, as it almost always produces a fair number of good snakes, but…it’s 100 miles from my house, so I don’t go often…

But I sure am glad I went tonight!!  The total count was 4 live snakes and 2 DOR.  All were Mojave Desert Sidewinders (not surprising) except for one…

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Mojave Desert Sidewinder

Now…this really is to be expected.  These sidewinders are all over Inyo County, and I find more of them than any other type of rattlesnake.  But that’s cool, because they’re really pretty.

I have heard “rumours” of people finding Rosy Boas on this particular road…from people I trust.  But I had never seen one on this road or any other…until tonight.

I found my first wild Desert Rosy Boa(Lichanura trivurgata gracia)!!

It's a Lifer!!

It's a Lifer!!

Pretty, ain't it?

Pretty, ain't it?

Now…for those of you that don’t herp…finding this snake is like hitting the lottery.  You buy your ticket every week, so you know you have a chance of winning.  Hell, other people have won, so why not you?  And than one day…you hit it!  You win!  It’s finally your turn, and it really is everything you’d hoped it would be!

That’s what this Rosy Boa is like for a guy like me.  Pure satisfaction.

And yea…I collected it and brought it home to keep.  You got a problem with that? 😉

Thanks for taking the time to look.  You people are awesome!

Leave a Reply

