Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Full Moon Cruise

Well, the full moon typically means that the snakes stay hunkered down.  But if it is slightly overcast, and you hit the dusk hours at the time time, you can find snakes between sundown and moonrise.

If not…you can take some nice landscape shots.  My friend John suggested I shoot these for HDR, and I’m glad he made the suggestion.  They came out quite nice, in my opinion.  Thanks John!

Western Slope of the White Mountains--HDR

Western Slope of the White Mountains--HDR

Western Slope of the White Mountanis #2--HDR

Western Slope of the White Mountanis #2--HDR

But tonight we got lucky, and we did manage to find a couple snakes while cruising…

Western Longnose #1

Western Longnose #1

This gorgeous Western Longnose is the first one I’ve ever had try to bite me.  He musked me pretty god, too.  Feisty little guy…

Western Longnose #2

Western Longnose #2

This little guy took one half-hearted attempt at striking and then curled into a cute little ball for pictures…

Mojave Glossy Snake

Mojave Glossy Snake

This little guy tried to bite me as well…several times.  And I couldn’t put him down or he would take off like a shot, so I had to hold him by the tail with one hand and try to take photos with the other.  Worth it, though…

Western Longnose #3

Western Longnose #3

This little one was a total surprise.  It was already about 10:30, and the full moon was well above the mountains.  What little cloud coverage was there was very whispy and didn’t dim the full moon very much at all.  But this guy was still out looking for a warm belly and a good meal.

We also saw one DOR Great Basin Gophersnake.  But I don’t like to photograph DOR snakes unless it is something I’ve never seen, doesn’t belong there…

Thanks for coming along!

Leave a Reply

