Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Road Cruisin’…Again…

Yup…another cruise on another road looking for more snakes.  It was nice and warm, hovering around 70*F, with a quick breeze blowing at around 30mph, with gusts reaching 45, but it was a warm wind.

We left my house around 8:00pm, and headed to a new road for the season, in search of the first Rubber boas of the year, but…we got skunked there.  Maybe if we had gone a little later, I don’t know…

Did find some cool flowers, though…

Flowers1

Flowers2

These flowers were interesting to shoot.  Like I said…it was windy.  Plus…it was dark.  So we parked the truck so the headlights were backlighting the flowers.  I set my camera to ISO 400, and used my onboard flash at 1/4 power as a fill.  Shutter speed was 1/180 of a second.  I think the shots came out fairly well, given the scenario…

We decided to hit another road that tends to be more reliable, and sure enough…just like Old Faithful…

Panamint1

Panamint2

Panamint Tongue

This was an absolutely STUNNING young Panamint.  He had about 4 or 5 buttons, and was about 24 inches long.  He was fairly calm, as well, only buzzing me when I touched him with the hook.  He was a good poser, too.  And he had a FAT belly full of food…

Further down the road we saw this little guy…

Longnose1

This little Western Longnose was just a baby.  We found a bunch of hatchlings in the same area last year, so it really wouldn’t surprise me if this guy was a re-find…or whatever you would call it…

That’s about it, though.  We didn’t see anything else except a DOR gophersnake, and the moon was coming up from behind the mountains, so we called it a night and headed home.

Thanks for coming along!

4 responses

  1. Charles

    Hello, I am going to be in AZ next week and want to do some road cruising to see some of snakes and any other local fauna/flora. Any suggestions to where I might by able to see some?

    May 13, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    • No, not really. I am in California, so I don’t have any idea on what roads might be productive for cruising. Sorry.

      May 14, 2009 at 1:04 am

  2. Dale

    The panamint is amazing!!! Talk about a sexy snake 🙂

    Your pics with the new camera are outstanding!

    May 18, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    • Thanks, Dale! I have been having a lot of fun with the new camera…

      May 18, 2009 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

