Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Hummingbird Babies

There are a bunch of hummingbiord feeders in my apartment complex.  And thus, there are a lot of hummingbirds. 

Earlier in the spring, I saw a nest just outside my front door in a tree.  I live on the second floor, so as I walk out onto my porch, I am eye level with a nest that is about 15′ away.  I knew it would come in handy…

I saw the female sitting in ther nest a LOT about a month ago.  about a week ago I heard chirping, but no mother.  Today…I saw 2 feathered babies, probably only a few weeks from fledging and taking off on their own.  So I snapped a couple pictures…

"What you lookin' at?!"

"What you lookin' at?!"

"It sees us!!"  "No it doesn't.  Just sit still and it will go away..."

"It sees us!!" "No it doesn't. Just sit still and it will go away..."

Two adorable little baby hummingbirds.  I’ve no idea what kind they are, but I got individual photos of the parents earlier in the spring feeding from a neighbor’s feeder:

Father getting a drink

Father getting a drink

Mother being VERY cautious approaching the feeder...

Mother being VERY cautious approaching the feeder...

I saw the above 2 birds at the nest site earlier in the spring.  While I didn’t actually observe the mating process, I did observe what I assume to be a courting ritual in and around the nest site, and I observed the female sitting in the nest, presumable on eggs, several times.  If anyone can positively ID the species, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks for looking!!

One response

  1. Nice shots.

    June 8, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

