Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Lifer Patchnose

Went for a drive with my friend John this evening…again…

Anyhow…tha plan was to leave a little earlier than normal, and hit a road I had seen DOR patchnose on, and see if we could find us one that was still breathing.  As luck would have it…we were succesful.  This is a “Lifer” snake for me.  That means one I have been actively looking for and never found.  Truth be known, I have seen 5 or 6 dead ones, and one live one before tonight.  DOR snakes don’t count as “lifers” in my book, and neither does a snake that I couldn’t interact with at least on some level, either via photographing, hooking, holding…something…  Tonight is the first time I actually had my hands on a living NMojave Patchnose snake…So here it is!!

Salvadora hexalepis mojavensis--Mojave Patchnose

Salvadora hexalepis mojavensis--Mojave Patchnose

As luck would have it…I got my hands on my first Great Basin Collared Lizard, as well.  Now…I don’t really keep track of all the lizards I find, because of two reasons…Number one…I see them everywhere and don’t know much about them, and number two…they simply don’t excite me.  There are a few exceptions, however, and Collard Lizards are one of them…

So here is the first Great Basin Collared Lizard I have ever interacted with:

Croaphytus bicinctores--Great Basin Collared Lizard

Croaphytus bicinctores--Great Basin Collared Lizard

Now…these are the only living reptiles we saw all night.  But anytime you can score 2 lifers in one night…it’s a good night.

Thanks for coming along!

Leave a Reply

