Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Fourth of July

Went to watch the fireworks with a friend last night and had a really good time.  I live in a small town, with a small budget, so…really the fireworks sucked.  They suck every year.  The town simply can’t afford the big, fancy, expensive fireworks, but…they try.  And every year is a good time…if you avoid spending the $20 to park at the airport. 

Me?  I spend the $20 on a 6-pack of good beer, and hit the dirt roads behind the airport. Closer to the action, excellent view, and my money is better spent.  Seems like a no-brainer to me…

Anyhow…here’s a couple pictures from last night…

Moon rise over White Mountains

Moon rise over White Mountains

The "Finale"

The "Finale"

One of the better mortars of the night

One of the better mortars of the night

The blast ain't great...but I like the smoke...

The blast ain't great...but I like the smoke...

The girl I was with was very curious about snakes, and she knows I am a bit of a snake lover.  As the fireworks started, around 9pm, she asked if there were snakes where we were.  I told her that around 10pm, if we were to drive down a closeby road, I would bet money we would find a sidewinder.  Sure enough…as we left the dirt road and hit the pavement, right on schedule at 10pm, there was a young sidewinder in the road.  I didn’t get any pictures of it, simply because my friend was really enjoying just loking at it and watching it.  It was pretty cool…

Anyhow…thanks for checking out the blog again!

9 responses

  1. Marnie

    Looks like you had fun on the fourth…….good for you, but one question am I ever going to be able to go and look for snakes with you…………..

    July 5, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    • Yea, of course. Next weekend?

      July 5, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    • So…Zayne comes with me all the time. She deals with rattlers better than most adults I know…

      July 9, 2009 at 8:00 pm

  2. Marnie

    I work this weekend thru Sunday night…………..What about Sat. July 18th I am off?

    July 9, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    • That’s too far ahead to plan…but sounds OK. It may be too warm to find many snakes…

      July 9, 2009 at 4:27 pm

  3. Marnie

    LOL ya I know it is far away but all my other days off are prob when you have your girl Zayne so…………

    July 9, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  4. Marnie

    Ok then I have this Monday thru Wed. off…………oh but bowling is Tues………..

    July 9, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    • Monday night. But…we’ll need to take your car ’cause my truck only has 2 seats and Zayne will be with us…If that’s OK…no dirt roads…

      July 10, 2009 at 1:57 am

  5. Marnie

    That will not be a problem at all. Dirt roads doesn’t matter either……sounds like a plan stan………

    July 10, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

