Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Insect Macros

Anyone that knows me, knows that I am an absolute wuss when it comes to insects.  Flying, biting, stinging, crawling, ugly, big, little…I don’t like ’em.  The only ones I like are the ones that trout eat.  And I only like those ’cause I like to fly fish.  Can’t have one without the other, so I have learned to love damselflies, Dobson’s flies, mayflies, stoneflies, caddis, midges and the like.  But everything else is fair game for the fly swatter as far as I’m concerned.  But I digress…

Anyone that knows me well, also knows that I can’t pass up a cool photo opportunity if my camera is within easy walking distance.  So when I went out onto the porch last night and saw a bunch of really cool looking spiders chilin’ in a web…I had to snap a couple close-ups…

The Underbelly

The Underbelly

The Backside

The Backside

I have no idea what these spiders are, but they were hanging out with 5 or 6 others that looked exactly the same, all in one giant web in the corner, underneath my porch light…like any smart spider would be…  Anyone that knows what they are, feel free to let me know via comment!

I also saw this cool beetle-looking thing in the early evening, and my daughter wanted a picture of it, so…I’ll share it…

Cool looking thing...for a bug...

Cool looking thing...for a bug...

Well…that’s about it.  Just a couple cool macro shots of some front porch wildlife.  Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

