Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

“Shorter of Breath…”

“…and, one day, closer to death.”  Pink Floyd is awesome…Anyhow…

Yup…Another year has passed.  I “celebrated” my 36th birthday yesterday.  I’m officially closer to 40 than I am to 30.  I guess it ain’t so bad.  I feel good, I still look relatively good with more brown hair than grey, and still more hair on my head than my ears or back.  And hell, I’m happy and having a ton of fun just living life.  I guess growing up ain’t so bad…

Anyhow…in lieu of any sort of Birthday Celebration, I spent a good portion of the day hiking a rather short but steep trail by myself in the John Muir Wilderness.  About 2 miles and about 2,000′ in elevation gain to the first lake…where I stopped…

The First of the Tyee Lakes

The First of the Tyee Lakes

I’m fairly certain that this is looking towards the south.  I could be wrong as I don’t usually carry a compass on a fairly popular day hike.  I suppose it doesn’t really matter much…

Ovipositing Dragonfly

Ovipositing Dragonfly

I managed to see this big ol’ dragonfly laying some eggs in the reeds at the edge of the lake.  She landed close enough to me that I was able to get a decent shot of her ovipositing…

Small Cascades

Small Cascades

On the way back down the trail, I followed the faint sound of trickling water to this tiny little outlet stream, and got what I think is a really decent shot of a tiny little cascade.

South Fork Falls

South Fork Falls

This is the second try at these falls for me.  This is a small feeder stream that flows into the South Fork of Bishop Creek after going over this really nice fall.  The last time I shot it with limited filters, and got a decent shot…but this one is better.

Anyhow…that’s how IO spent the ol’ birthday…walking around in the wilderness, disturbing everything around me.  Couldn’t have asked for a better day.  To top it off, a friend took me out for Sushi and pool in the evening.  Great way to end the day!

Thanks for taking the time to read!

2 responses

  1. Happy Birthday…a great way to spend it.

    August 24, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

