Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

“…with a little help from my friends…”

So…I was invited on a hike this morning with 3 other local photographers.  They are all part of the Eastern Sierra Photographers, as I am.  We decided to take a hike up around Lake Sabrina, above Bishop, and boy, did we pick a spectacular day.

Tungsten Hills

Tungsten Hills

On the way up to Sabrina, there was some fantastic light coming through a wonderful stormfront ni the Tungsten Hills area, so we decided to stop and take some shots…

Mt. Tom...sorta...

Mt. Tom...sorta...

Of course…whilst in the Tungsten Hills, I am obligated to put on the 150mm tele and find some lizards.  It would be sacreligious if I didn’t…

Fence Lizard trying to grow a new tail...

Fence Lizard trying to grow a new tail...

Sagebrush Lizard

Sagebrush Lizard

Onwards and upwards, we hopped back in the car and continued up to Lake Sabrina at the top of Bishop Creek Canyon…

Lake Sabrina

Lake Sabrina

Tell me those clouds aren’t amazing…

Beautiful time and place to be me...

Beautiful time and place to be me...

Faraway Falls

Faraway Falls

This GORGEOUS waterfall is incredibly far away from me.  I used my 150mm lens, and I cropped this way down in processing.  I vow to get closer to this fall.  Maybe not before the snow falls up there this year…but I WILL get close to those falls for decent shots…

Anyhow…I decided to head back down to the car earlier than the others.  We were parked alongside Middle Fork Bishop Creek, and I wanted to get some photos of the creek.

Middle Fork Upper

Middle Fork Upper

Nornmally…on a Sunday in August…this place is literally assholes to elbows with fisherman.  You can’t get a line in edgewise…which is why I typically avoid the middle fork.  But when the rains come, and it clouds up, the fisherman head for cover.  Fortunately, as a photographer…i LOVE overcast days.  Gives you wonderful light…

Middle Fork Lower

Middle Fork Lower

I love how the heavy flow of water gave everything a surreal look to everything.  So much movement…

The Stump

The Stump

This is my favorite shot of the day.  Don’t know how you feel about it, but I think this is the best of the day.

Anyhow…Thanks for taking the time to read!

4 responses

  1. tookyjay

    Incredible as always!

    August 24, 2009 at 12:42 am

  2. marklizard

    Chris,

    These pictures are gorgeous!!

    Mark

    September 27, 2009 at 3:21 pm

  3. Thanks, Mark!

    September 27, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

