Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Sunset Silouhettes

Wow.  I caught the sunset tonight and it was pretty darn spectacular.  

At first, when the sun was just barely behind the mountains, it wasn’t giving any color, except a blinding yellow and white burst that reflected off the clouds.  So turned around and shot the moon rising up over the Whites…

Moonrise Over Whites

Moonrise Over Whites

Color conversion

Color conversion

When it finally dipped below the horizon and started throwing some color up into the clouds, it was still so bright that I simply could not expose for the mountains.  I simply didn’t have enough filters to stop down the sky.

So…I switched gears and set up for deep silhouettes…

Mt. Tom

Mt. Tom

Basin Mountain, Mt. Tom, Wheeler Crest

Basin Mountain, Mt. Tom, Wheeler Crest

I’ve never really been successful with silhouettes in the past.  I’m starting to think now that maybe I was just trying at the wrong times…

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

