Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Little Lakes Valley

I went for a hike up around Little Lakes Valley yesterday.  This is a high alpine valley, sitting well above 10,000′ in the Eastern Sierra…probably closer to 11,500′, but I am not certain.  HIGH is all I can say…

Anyhow…it was a high, bright sun, with very little clouds, and very harsh shadows.  But I found some decent shots…

B&W Cascade1

B&W Granite Peaks

B&W Heart Lake

I also took a couple of colorful shots, for those that would rather see color dynamics instead of tonal dynamics…

Cascade1

Upper Rock Creek

And last night before I went to bed, I went outside during some fairly heavy winds to try something different…

Spooky Tree Front1

I used a 25 second exposure during high winds to get the leaevs really blowing around and creating a wispy, almost ghost-like appearance.  To illuminate the tree, I used a handheld LED flashlight and just painted the front of the tree in random patterns with the light, whilst standing off the the left.  This was an experiement, and I really didn’t know what to expect.  I admit that this is not what I was expecting, and while it doesn’t truly fit the technical definition of “light painting”…I am very pleased with the way the final shot looks eery…almost spooky.  Next time I’ll put a headstone in front of the tree for full effect…

Thanks for taking the time to check out the shots!

Leave a Reply

