Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Monuments and Memorials

I love cemetaries.  Gorgeously manicured lawns, landscaped with beautiful Oak and Aspen trees, and wonderful, aged granite and marble monuments and statues everywhere.  It’s a wonderful place for a boy and his camera to spend a couple of hours…

Badly Weathered

Cross1

Granite Wreath

Round Top

I’m not a religious person, and as much as I LOVE photographing these wonderfully worn granite headstones…I can’t fathom being buried.  I have no desire to be stuffed inside a box and buried beneath the dirt for friends, relatives and family to visit…and enemies to vandalize.  I don’t need to be remembered.  Burn me up and sprinkle my ashes in the desert, and we’ll all be happier…

I am, however, thrilled that there are so many people who deem it necessary to memorialize their deceased loved ones through elaborate stone carvings and immaculate displays of grandeur.  Afterall…they make wonderful photographs, and a fantastic test upon which to perfect my use of the Zone System.  So many tones and textures…just don’t put one over me.

Thanks for taking the time to look!

One response

  1. Nice stuff!

    September 10, 2009 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

