Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Quest for Falls…

Anyone that has visited the Eastern Sierra knows that we have a lot of streams.  Big mountains, with steep slopes, and high average snowfall combine to produce an amazing array of rivers, creeks, streams and lakes.  Most of these bodies of water eventually find a way to empty their contents into the desert floor.  What the LADWP doesn’t siphon off and irrigate away as drinking water, settles in as groundwater beneath the sand and sagebrush of the desert.  We won’t talk about the fact that it wasn’t a desert before the LADWP…that will be another post…

Anyhow…

One of my hobbies is finding waterfalls.  I like to photograph them, and I like to sit by them, have a cigarette, and just relax.  They are magical in their presence… Aural bliss from their falling molecules of Hydrogen and Oxygen.  Visual perfection in their flexability and splendor.  Glorious in their sustenance.  But I digress…

Went for a walk up around Pine Creek yesterday.  I know of many beautiful runs and riffles on Pine Creek…it’s one of my favorite fishing creeks in the entire Eastern Sierra.  But there aren’t any fish there, so don’t bother…

Found this guy chillin’ in my path to the creek’s edge…

Gopher1

Gopher2

This was a feisty son of a bitch.  Sure…he’s one of the prettiest deserticola I’ve ever encountered…but the bastard tried to bite me at least a dozen times in the span of 5 minutes.  I like ’em like that though.  Let’s me know they got some fight in ’em.  The bastards will be just fine. 

I had to hang onto him for a couple minutes because I was with Rose and Annette, and I’m not sure Rose has had a positive experience with a wild snake before, and I wanted her to see this guy.  Anyhow…on to the water…

It was pretty blown out…hazy, mid-day sun with little saturation and WAY to stark in the shadows.  So We went up above the road, and just listened.  Sure enough, within a few minutes of walking quietly…

Hidden Falls

Hidden Falls

Jumbled Falls

Jumbled Falls

Little Falls

Little Falls

These were all in one small area, and there were many, many other little falls and cascades scattered about.  They were on the main creek and on small feeder streams coming into the creek on both sides.  Most of them ended in beautiful little runs and cascades, and there were a few little plunge pools.

I’m going back up there.  Better lighting would make this place spectacular.  Expect an update on this spot…soon…

As always, Thanks for taking the time!

Leave a Reply

