Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Color Conversions

I don’t do this very often.  Frankly…I’m still trying to figure it out.  I almost always shoot in monotone and process from there.  But the other day, I went through some shots from earlier this year, and found these ones that were just begging me to make them B&W and beautiful…

South Lake

South Lake

South Lake Peak

South Lake Peak

These were both taken as color images.  I used my Channel Mixer tool in Corel Paint Shop Pro Ultimate Photo to cnovert them to monochrome.  There are a few different ways to convert a color photo to B&W…you can desaturate the entire thing, you can do a stimple greyscale conversion, you can convert it to a B&W film effect…but using the Channel Mixer, you have the ability to control your picture using the Red, Green, and Blue channels, which ultimately work much the same way as shooting through those filters in B&W would work.  So for these…I just bumped the Red channel, and got that really dramatic, dark sky, like a red contrast filter…

Anyhow…just wanted to share.  It’s not something I do very often, but you might see some more of it…

Leave a Reply

