Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Another Walkabout…

I went for another walk around town with my camera over my shoulder yesterday.  I’m really excited about “discovering” Environmental Portraiture.  It’s really neat going out and talking to random people, getting to know them a little bit, and getting good shots.  It’s great practice, as well.  It’s easy to take pictures of my daughter because I know her, and I love her dearly…it’s a pleasure.  It’s a bit more difficult taking GOOD shots of complete strangers, so this whole Environmental Portraiture aspect of photography is great fun AND great practice.

Anyhow…

50 Year Local

50 Year Local

This is Chris.  He has lived in Bishop, CA for 50 years now.  I didn’t catch his age, so I don’t know if he was born here or not.  I also don’t know if he has ever spent time elsewhere, or if Bishop has always been home.  I DO know that he has no interest in leaving anytime soon…

Desert Rat

Desert Rat

Not a local in the traditional sense of the word, but this gentleman knows the surrounding desert better than anyone else I’ve ever met.  He spends his days, and even some nights, wandering the desert, studying the land, and disovering petroglyphs and Native American sites for anthropological and archaelogical study.  I didn’t catch if he was a clinical anthropologist or a geologist, or what, exactly…but he’s quite proud of his desert days…and he should be.

Thanks for coming along!  Hopefully, over the next several months, I’ll be able to introduce you to a few more Bishop Locals, and maybe give you a peek into their lives…

One response

  1. This must be fun! I will be following close behind.

    October 23, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

