Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Buttermilk Bouldering

Back in the day, before my wonderful daughter was born and my not-so-wonderful body started giving out, I spent many a day bouldering and rock climbing in and around the Bishop area.  When my daughter was born, I lost some of my  balls for climbing.  She added a new dimension that I never knew before…fear of the consequences.  Last thing in the world you need is self-doubt and consequential worries a thousand feet off the deck, so I put aside the ropes,’biners, and gear, and got back into bouldering.  Of course…I had some injuries here and there, and my fat old ass doesn’t do what it used to do anymore.  But the Buttermilk area is still one of my favorite places to be, year-round…

Parking Lot View at the Birthday Boulders Area

The Birthday Boulders Area

The Iron Man Traverse...err...Iron WOMAN Traverse...

Basin Mountain from The Iron Man Traverse

Topping out on perfect Buttermilk Granite

Bishop Creek Headwaters Basin from The Peabody Area

It was a beautiful day, with the sun a-shinin’, the birds a-chirpin’ and climbers a-climbin’.  A great place and time to be me…

Thanks for coming along!!

2 responses

  1. uncoveringyou

    Good GOD you live in a beautiful place! AND it’s amazing isn’t it how our perspectives change when kids come along? My three certainly keep me in check at times :).

    January 6, 2010 at 7:17 am

    • Thanks so much for the comments! Yes…my kid stole all of my balls, and turned me into a safety conscious, over-protective old fuddy-duddy overnight. But she is worth every moment of stressed-out caution…;)

      Thanks again, for commenting, Kim!

      January 6, 2010 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

