Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Storm Over Wheeler Crest…The Story Continues…

Storm Over Wheeler Crest

 If you’ve followed the progress of this blog at all, you know that I took this shot back in August of 2009.  It was a few days after my 36th birthday, and I was out shooting with my good friends John, Rich and Chris.  It was just a fantastic day shooting, and when I took this picture, I just had the feeling that something special happened.

It was a turning point for me, technically, because this is the shot that helped me re-discover my love of B&W photography and the power of the B&W landscape.  This shot convinced me that I could achieve very desireable B&W results digitally if I tried hard enough, contrary to everything I had read and heard from the photography media.

This shot was selected to run in a digital side-show at the San José Museum of Art alongside prints by Ansel Adams as part of the “Ansel Adams Early Years” exhibit.  That is the first time I really felt “recognized” for any artistic endeavor.  It’s something I am very proud of.

And now it has been selected to run in the Mammoth Library Gallery showing from February 1 through March 31, 2010.

Truth be told…I think I have taken many shots since this one that are better.  That’s not to say I don’t think this is a good shot…it’s just not my best, in my opinion.  However, the hope is that what I consider my best today will not be my best tomorrow.  Always striving for better.  Always learning something new…

Anyhow…it’s getting tough to get good news these days.  So I just wanted to share a little bit of my excitement.  Thanks for taking the time to look!!

Leave a Reply

