Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Eureka Sand Dunes

I met John at about 4:45 this morning, and we headed out to Death Valley National Park to photograph the Eureka Sand Dunes at sunrise.  I had never been there before, but boy am I glad I went…

Eureka Dunes

Eureka Dunes

John, walking the dunes

Desert Shade

Big Pine Range

What a fantastic morning.  I thought it was going to be disappointing, because the light was just blah when we got there.  But the moment the sun crested the White/Inyo Mountains behind us, the textures and colors just POPPED!

Thanks for coming along!

3 responses

  1. I am SO jealous of where you live! I drove out there to the Eureka sand dunes years ago and thought it was a great spot. Have always wanted to go back there some day.

    Very nice work.

    February 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

    • Thanks, Paul. Believe it or not, this was my first time at the actual dunes. I have been all over northern Eureka Valley chasing lizards and rattlers, but I had never taken the time to drive the extra 14 miles to the dunes before. I can tell you I will definitely be going again, though!

      February 22, 2010 at 10:28 am

  2. Robin Black

    I LOVE the texture of the sand in that second shot. You can just feel that sand–great composition. I’m headed to DeVa the end of next month for two days, and have to make up my mind which dunes to photograph–there’s more there than I realized! (besides just Eureka, that is)

    February 23, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Leave a Reply

