Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

My New Buddy

Someone called up the shop the other day, and asked if I knew anyone that rescued animals.  She said she found “some kind of turtle” walking in her backyard.  She described it to me, and I figured it to be a Red-eared Slider, which is a semi-aquatic turtle, popular in the pet trade, and not at all adapted to life in the hot, dry, high desert of Bishop.  So I told her to bring it in the shop, and I would make some calls.

I didn’t need to make any calls, because as soon as I saw him, I knew I was just gonna have to bring him home with me.  So I’d like to introduce you all to my new buddy, Rocky, relaxing comfortably in his new semi-aquarium…

Say, Buddy...Is that a camera ya' got there?

CHEESE!

This is actually my good side...

We done here? kthxbai!

He really is an entertaining little critter.  I never had a turtle before, believe it or not.  I have a tortoise, and loads of snakes, a couple dogs…I’ve had lizards of many varieties, hamsters, rats, and rabbits…cats, goldfish, and birds…but this is my first turtle.  He’s cool!!

Thanks for taking the time to look!

Leave a Reply

