Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Why I Live in the Desert

I don’t like the cold.  I don’t like the snow.  I don’t like the wind.  I don’t like ice.  But I LOVE taking B&W photos of these conditions.  So my friend Rich and I grabbed our gear and headed to the mountains…

60-65mph winds where I am standing are strong enough to blow me back, let alone the tripod.  I was forced to hold tight to the tripod legs, and wait for a break in the wind to take a shot.  I got pretty lucky, to be perfectly honest…

First Stop--Crowley Lake

You can see the snow plumes coming off the mountains.  Rich was trying to capture the snow and ice particles as they were blown across the surface of the ice.  I was just trying to wait out the wind gusts, and snap pictures in between.  I was actually standing next to a low toy-hauler trailer to block the wind for this one…

Brrr...

Further up we go, looking for great light and wind protection.  Mother Nature wasn’t having it…

Man, alive…the winds coming across Convict were even worse than those at Crowley.  And with the entire surface of the lake a sheet of ice, it was whipping up ice and snow particles strong enough to sand blast a car, I think.  A couple of quick hand-held shots, and we were outta there…

Next Stop--Convict Lake

When we finally arrived at our ultimate destination, the winds had died down, the clouds had broken up, and it turned into a rather pleasant couple of hours…

Reflections at Mono Lake

South Tufa Reflections

Tufa Reflections

 

Mono was gorgeous.  We were hoping to catch the freezing fog, but unfortunately, we got there just in time to watch it pull back off the lake, and break up into to nothing on the northern shore.  But the sun was warm, the wind was gone, and a good time was had by all.  What else could you ask for?

Thanks for taking the time to look!

3 responses

  1. Kiran

    You have a wonderful eye! i always love shots in black and white.

    January 15, 2011 at 11:02 am

  2. Yup. Again. Awesome. These black and whites are quite inspiring, man. Makes me want to seriously revisit some of my Alaska shots and see if some can make the transition with any degree of success. Heh.

    May 12, 2011 at 8:48 am

    • Good luck! I always recommend Silver Efex Pro. I have both versions 1 and 2, and they are both outstanding pieces of software for B&W conversions. Can’t wait to see what you turn out!

      May 12, 2011 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

