Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

New Long Lens

So I finally broke down and invested in a decent long lens.  Yesterday, I came home for lunch and it was sitting on the porch…my brand new Zuiko 70-300mm tele zoom.  So I brought it to work to try it out…

Petrie-Baby Red Belly Parrot

Bailey-Blue and Gold Macaw

Nina-Congo African Grey

It was nice to be able to stand back away from the birds enough that they didn’t get nervous about me, and still be able to get nice, tight shots. 

Later in the evening, while sitting in the living room, we could see the Big Pine fire flaring up pretty intensely.  It was dark, but I got this shot…

Big Pine Fire

Pretty intense fire.  I live about 8 miles from Big Pine, and still managed a shot like this with only a 300mm lens.  I think we got pretty lucky…

Thanks for taking the time to look!

2 responses

  1. congrats! I had no idea you were an Olympus shooter, too. That lens is a bargain…lots of people get great results with it and the images look as though the lens costs way more than it does. Looking forward to more of your work with it.

    March 20, 2011 at 10:30 am

    • Yup, I’m Olympus all the way. And yea, this lens has a lot of reach and fantastic sharpness. Seems to be an excellent value. Now if the weather would cooperate and give me a decent day to take it out in the field… 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      March 20, 2011 at 10:59 am

Leave a Reply

