Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

More Birds

April is an absolutely incredible month this year.  I am SWAMPED with tasks, commitments, chores, and work.  The Shop is moving to a new location, the herp club has commitments to wildlife and government agencies every weekend, and my 21 year old son is coming to visit…for the first time…since he was 2…  Anyhow…

With all the work, stress, and outside commitments in my life right now, there hasn’t been much time to get out and take pictures.  But, since I got my new 70-300mm lens, I decided to get a couple birdfeeders and put them in strategic locations throughout the yard.  So at least I have some bird photo opportunities…

Some kind of Chickadee...I think...

House Finch...the majority population 'round here...

House Finch, approaching strategic feeder #1

A different House Finch, actively feeding at strategic feeder #1

Yellow Headed Blackbird

I’m no good with bird identification, and I don;t own a guidebook, so if any of you bird lovers out there see these as labled wrong or misidentified, please feel free to comment or drop a line to let me know.  I don;t mind being corrected, so please don;t hesitate to offer expertise where I have none…

I also played around with textures again.  This time I used Photoshop brushes to create the texture.  These brushes were again provided by Shadowhouse Creations.  Any of you photographers with even a small interest in textur layers should definitely check that site out.  This guy is giving away some absolutely outstanding work, with very few considerations being asked for.  The man is talented and generous.  Anyhow…

Sparrow

I honestly enjoyed working with the brushes much more than the texture layers.  More control, precise placement, and an infinite amount of variability.  Very neat, and really quite fun.  You should try it…

Thanks for taking the time to look!

2 responses

  1. Some very nice images here. Birds are so hard to photograph.

    April 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm

  2. Leslie

    Really nice shots. I am no bird expert either, but I recognize that first guy as someone who visits our yard here in SoCal. I believe they are white crowned sparrows: http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/White-crowned_Sparrow/id (this is a great site for identifying birds). Love your experimentation with the textures.

    April 9, 2011 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

