Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

What a Day!

So…I picked my son up at the airport on Sunday.  I haven’t seen him since he was 2 years old, and he has no conscious memory of me at all.  He’s a 21-year-old Army combat veteran, now.  We had a 4 hour drive from the airport to the house, and we spent 99% of it talking, laughing, and getting to know each other.  It really surprises me how much we have in common, both in terms of things we enjoy, and our personalities…the way we think.  We share similar opinions on many subjects, and enjoy many of the same hobbies and activities. 

It’s really been a nice couple of days.  We went for a walk around the Buttermilk area, looking for snake and lizards, and taking pictures yesterday afternoon…

My son, Kevin, looking for snakes and lizards, camera 'round his neck

 We did manage to find a few lizards, but no snakes…

Great Basin Fence Lizard--Sceloporus occidentalis longipes

And a B&W panorama of some of my favorite mountains…

2 shot pano--Paiute Crag to Mt. Humphries

 Last night, Kevin and I went road cruising for snakes for a little bit.  We didn’t see any snakes, but we did find a Great Basin Spadefoot toad, which is always a welcome and rare treat in Inyo County…

Great Basin Spadefoot--Spea intermontana

It’s been fantastic so far!  We are going to pick up Zayne either tonight or tomorrow.  These two haven’t met, yet, so I’m pretty excited to get them both together…

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

