Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Barn Owls

I have never had the pleasure of seeing a Barn Owl in the wild.  Yesterday, two fledgling Barn Owls were brought to the wildlife center.  I was honored and privileged to be able to give them both their initial exams, and luckily, neither one has any apparent injuries!  So other than being orphaned and a bit young, they are perfectly healthy.  We will feed them and keep them safe until they are able to fly, and then they will be released.  I have no worries about these two retaining their wild attitude.  They let me know with no uncertain terms that they wanted nothing to do with me…

Fledgling Barn Owl

Fledgling Barn Owl

I’m really excited to be working with these two.  The Great Horned Owls are awesome, don’t get me wrong, but you just don’t see these guys very often and to be able to work hands-on with them, knowing they are healthy and will be returned very soon, is an incredible opportunity and experience.

Thanks for coming along!

Leave a Reply

