Mother Nature is the artist. I just collect the memories…

Raptors at Work

If you follow with any regularity, you probably know that I recently started working as a wildlife intern at Eastern Sierra Wildlife Care.  We rescue and rehabilitate injured and orphaned wildlife.  It’s a very labor-intensive job, and very time-consuming work, but it is the best job I’ve ever had…

Great Horned Owlets

These baby Great Horneds are really awesome.  They’ve been here for a little while now, and pretty soon we’ll start getting them hunting live prey and prepare them for release.

Red Tail Hawk scheduled for release in the next couple weeks

This Red Tail was shot with a pellet gun.  Lucky for him, the pellet fragmented without causing a ton of major damage to the wing.  He is healing fine and flying well, and is scheduled for release very soon.

Adult Great Horned Owl

This Great Horned was one of my first intakes at the center.  You can see his right eye is injured.  We aren’t exactly sure what happened, but he seems to have good vision.  He’s ready for test flights and live hunting in preparation for release, as well.

Lenore

This Raven came to us as a young baby.  She’s pretty darn sweet, and will probably be released soon.  I couldn’t resist an old feeling, B&W treatment and an Edgar Allen Poe reference…

Thanks for looking!

2 responses

  1. ah this is great. So glad people help these creatures. and that raven…I’d be tempted to take her home. I love ravens.

    June 11, 2011 at 5:20 am

    • Yea, she’s a sweetheart. Believe me, I have tried to get a “soft release” for her in my backyard, but unfortunately, I have far too many neighbors, and she wouldn’t know the difference between me and the “bad ones” that might be just as happy shooting her. It’s just too risky…

      June 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

